Adventures in Bar Harbor, Maine (Part 3)

Hi everyone! Today’s post will be my last post of the Bar Harbor series. In my previous post (Adventures in Bar Harbor, Maine part 2), I talked about my restaurant recommendations for Bar Harbor. In this post, I will be talking about some of the fun things to do in Bar Harbor, including Acadia National Park! So let’s get started! Here are my top things to do and see in Bar Harbor, Maine:

1. Acadia National Park

I could not put anything other than Acadia National Park in my #1 spot. Truly, Acadia is a natural wonder. It has mountains, lakes, hiking trails, beaches, wildlife viewing, and several fantastic tours that will show you the highlights of this amazing national park. If you have never visited Acadia before, I recommend taking a tour of the park first, so that you will get to know the main photo ops and places to see. (Some people feel that organized tours are too “touristy,” but I personally think they are a great introduction to any new place.) I chose to take a tour with Acadia National Park Tours, and I loved it! This tour included stops around Mount Desert Island plus visits to Thunder Hole, the Jordan Pond House, and Cadillac Mountain in Acadia. Our tour guide, Roger, was both educational and entertaining. He kept everyone on the tour involved by asking trivia questions about Bar Harbor, teaching us “Maine-ish” phrases, and demonstrating how to identify and pick wild berries atop Cadillac Mountain!

My Acadia National Park Tours tour bus!
My Acadia National Park Tours tour bus!
Park Loop Road, the main (one-way) road throughout the park.
Park Loop Road, the main (one-way) road throughout the park.
The big splash at Thunder Hole!
The big splash at Thunder Hole!

2. Sand Beach

My next must-see place is Sand Beach, which is located inside Acadia National Park. This little beach is actually the only ocean-side beach with true “sand” in Bar Harbor! I recommend getting there as early as you can because parking spaces are few, and they fill up fast. One day during my trip, I woke up extra-early and enjoyed breakfast on the beach, and what a treat it was! Even the fog that descends early in the morning gives a quiet, serene feeling to the beach as you listen to the waves crash against the shore. You will probably not do much swimming at this beach, however, because the Labrador Current makes the water in this area very cold. (Around 55 degrees Fahrenheit, even in the summer.) It is fun to stick your toes in the chilly water and race to escape the waves, though! Also, there are some interesting tide pools and rocks to explore that would be a lot of fun for kids with adult supervision. Those who really want to swim can visit Echo Lake, also in the park, that has warmer water.

The rocky coast along Sand Beach
The rocky coast along Sand Beach
Foggy Sand Beach!
Foggy Sand Beach!

3. Whale Watching

Another must-do in Bar Harbor is whale watching! Because of the local emphasis on ecological responsibility, all Bar Harbor whale watching companies are legally required to be respectful of the whales and cannot chase them or agitate them at any time. This means that whale watching in Bar Harbor is one of the best ways to see beautiful whales and learn about their conservation! There are a few issues that may come up with whale watching, however. First, there is the issue of fog. There was heavy fog for two days in a row during my visit, and I was pleased that the company I chose, Bar Harbor Whale Watch, refunded my entire ticket price and offered me a discount in their store. When it comes to fog in Bar Harbor, there is always a chance that your trip may be cancelled. The second issue that may come up is sea sickness. When I read the reviews for several whale watching tours, there were some people who experienced sea sickness during their tour. If you know that you get seasick, or if you think there is a possibility that you may, be sure to take Sea Bands, ginger, or Dramamine with you. (I’ve also heard that green apples help too!) In spite of the issues that may come up, if you are able to go whale watching, I would still definitely recommend it as it will be a trip that you will cherish for years to come.

Bar Harbor Whale Watch headquarters
Bar Harbor Whale Watch headquarters
Ramp leading to the whale watching tours boat dock
Ramp leading to the whale watching tours boat dock

4. Downtown Bar Harbor

If you love shopping, or if you are looking for a one-of-a-kind souvenir for your trip, check out the shops in downtown Bar Harbor! I had such a blast going into each shop, talking to the friendly shop owners, and purchasing items that supported the local economy and that would remind me of my great trip to Bar Harbor. Pretty much anything you are looking for, whether it’s a T-shirt or hand-carved wood sculpture, can be found in the many shops here. There are also great ice cream shops, candy and fudge shops, and restaurants if you get hungry during your shopping trip. Also, if you go at the end of the summer season, many shops offer great discounts on their merchandise!

Bar Harbor Town Square
Bar Harbor Town Square
Downtown Bar Harbor Shops!
Downtown Bar Harbor Shops!
The Sea Dog Gift Shop!
The Sea Dawg Gift Shop!

Thank you so much for reading this post, and I hope you enjoyed my Bar Harbor, Maine series! Stay tuned for my upcoming blog series on Chattanooga, Tennessee!

Leave a comment